I, Emma Freke by Elizabeth Atkinson

It has been a while since I picked up a realistic fiction book, I don’t know why, somehow science fiction and fantasy has been more appealing to me as of late.  Yet I know that not all my students are science fiction lovers such as myself and so I swore this summer I would also add realistic fiction to the mix.  I am glad I did.  This book chronicling the very different life of Emma Freke (pronounced Am a Freak) is a book I cannot wait to get in the hands of students.  Easy to read with super relatable characters and events, and part of the book is even set in Wisconsin.  It is highly appropriate for 5th graders and easy to read.  I hope others will like it as much as I did.

Bottom line: Easily likable book with a fun plot and great characters.

From Goodreads:
“I, Emma Freke” is a charming search-for-identity story about Emma–the only “normal” member of her quirky family. While Emma desperately tries to find her niche, she discovers that perhaps its better to be her own “freak” than someone else’s Freke.

Leave a Reply

