Found (The Missing #1) by Margaret Peterson Haddix

I absolutely adore Margaret Peterson Haddix, just ask any of my former students.  Her series Among the Hidden was brilliant and one of my must reads of 5th grade.  I was therefore rather excited to start this new series by her and even more so when Billy told me I had to read it right now!  So I did because Billy is usually spot on when it comes to his recommendations and I was not disappointed   The story is filled with action, easy to understand, just the right amount of fantasy and science fiction, and best of all it is a series.  It follows Jonah, Chip, and Katherine as they get mysterious notes in the mail and try to figure out who is sending them and why.

Bottom-line:  Great book for any 5th grader who loves a fast-paced, suspenseful page turner that is easy to read.

Edit:  I read the second book of the series “Sent” and I must admit that I fell off the series wagon.  It was good, but not as good as Among the Hidden series, and so I decided to give it up.

From Goodreads:
Thirteen-year-old Jonah has always known that he was adopted, and he’s never thought it was any big deal. Then he and a new friend, Chip, who’s also adoped, begin receiving mysterious letters. The first one says, “You are one of the missing.” The second one says, “Beware! They’re coming back to get you.”

Jonah, Chip, and Jonah’s sister, Katherine, are plunged into a mystery that involves the FBI, a vast smuggling operation, an airplane that appeared out of nowhere — and people who seem to appear and disappear at will. The kids discover they are caught in a battle between two opposing forces that want very different things for Jonah and Chip’s lives.
Do Jonah and Chip have any choice in the matter? And what should they choose when both alternatives are horrifying?
One thought on “Found (The Missing #1) by Margaret Peterson Haddix

  1. I've read the entire series and I've found that I am more engaged in the story when it involves a historical time that I love. I really liked the third book Sabotaged (set in Roanoke, the lost colony) and the fifth book Caught (about Albert Eistein's unknown daughter). The sixth book is going to involve the Romanov's in 1918 and also sounds interesting to me.

Leave a Reply

