This Journal Belongs to Ratchet by Nancy J. Cavanaugh

I had no idea what to expect when I ordered this book but I had had from Mr. Schu that this was a must read.  So the day it came I placed it on my coffee table, thinking I would read it at some point when I was finished with the book I was currently reading.  And yet, the book called to me all day and I found myself thumbing through the pages, turning it over and reading, and finally cracking it open that afternoon just to see what the first page would say.  Big mistake!  By night time I tried to stay awake to finish it even though I had class early the next morning.  I woke up disappointed that I had not been able to finish it and hoped that there would be time to finish it that day.  I simply had to know if Ratchet would find a friend, if her dad would stop the city council, and whether she would ever find the locked box.

Bottom level: Fantastic middle grade novel that all kids will enjoy.  I cannot wait to get kids to read it!

From Goodreads:
If only getting a new life were as easy as getting a new notebook.
But it’s not.

It’s the first day of school for all the kids in the neighborhood. But not for me. I’m homeschooled. That means nothing new. No new book bag, no new clothes, and no friends – old or new. The best I’ve got is this notebook. I’m supposed to use it for my writing assignments, but my dad never checks. Here’s what I’m really going to use it for:

Ratchet’s Top Secret Plan
Project Goal: turn my old, recycled, freakish, friendless, motherless life into something shiny and new.

This year, I’m going make something change

One thought on “This Journal Belongs to Ratchet by Nancy J. Cavanaugh

  1. Thanks for such a lovely review! And thanks for telling students about it! I can only hope some young readers will have their flashlights out reading late into the night. :)Nancy J. Cavanaugh

Leave a Reply

