Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson

I don’t know what spurred me to grab my copy of Hattie Big Sky and finally start to read it  Perhaps I had just finally heard enough time just how good this book was, perhaps I needed a break from the sci fi apocalypse novels I seem to devour.  Whatever the reason, I loved the book so much I read it in a day even skipping watching a movie with Brandon so that I could see what happened to Hattie.  This book is brilliant. Following the story of Hattie, a 16 year old girl in 1917 who inherits her uncle’s claim in Montana and decides to go for it.  I loved how the author wove in the actions of World War I and how it affected the residents of Montana and Hattie herself.  I loved the easy way it was written and how much you needed to just read the next page.  In fact, I can already think fo at least 3 former students that will love the book as much as I have.

Bottom line:  Must read for any 5th grader.

From Goodreads:
Alone in the world, teen-aged Hattie is driven to prove up on her uncle’s homesteading claim.
For years, sixteen-year-old Hattie’s been shuttled between relatives. Tired of being Hattie Here-and-There, she courageously leaves Iowa to prove up on her late uncle’s homestead claim near Vida, Montana. With a stubborn stick-to-itiveness, Hattie faces frost, drought and blizzards. Despite many hardships, Hattie forges ahead, sharing her adventures with her friends–especially Charlie, fighting in France–through letters and articles for her hometown paper.

Her backbreaking quest for a home is lightened by her neighbors, the Muellers. But she feels threatened by pressure to be a “Loyal” American, forbidding friendships with folks of German descent. Despite everything, Hattie’s determined to stay until a tragedy causes her to discover the true meaning of home.

One thought on “Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson

  1. Pingback: My 10 Favorite Books From This Summer’s Reading | Blogging Through the Fourth Dimension

Leave a Reply

