Doll Bones by Holly Black

I kept seeing this book pop up in online conversations as a great read for upper elementary.  I had thus placed in out my ever expanding Amazon wishlist, and yet, when Thea and I had some time to pass and we headed to the book store I ended up taking it home.  And then I read it in two days.  Doll Bones is creepy, but not in a super scary read at your own risk kind of way, just has an underlying sense of creep that urges you to keep reading.  The story is deceptively simple, easy to follow along, and easy to get sucked into.

I don’t want to give too much away but I am eager to pass this to my 5th graders.  I have a feeling this will not sit long on my bookshelves.

From Goodreads:
Zach, Poppy and Alice have been friends for ever. They love playing with their action figure toys, imagining a magical world of adventure and heroism. But disaster strikes when, without warning, Zach’s father throws out all his toys, declaring he’s too old for them. Zach is furious, confused and embarrassed, deciding that the only way to cope is to stop playing . . . and stop being friends with Poppy and Alice. But one night the girls pay Zach a visit, and tell him about a series of mysterious occurrences. Poppy swears that she is now being haunted by a china doll – who claims that it is made from the ground-up bones of a murdered girl. They must return the doll to where the girl lived, and bury it. Otherwise the three children will be cursed for eternity . . .

Leave a Reply

