Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamillo

This book kept popping up in conversation while I was at Teachers College in New York City so when I stumbled upon it at Half Price Books, I knew I had to give it a shot.  Even if I don’t like animal books.  This relatively short and unassuming book is so far from what I had expected to be.  Yes, I read it in a day, which is easy to do, but days later I keep coming back to it trying to figure out what this thing meant or why the character would have said something.  Because of all of the thoughts it spurred in my head, I cannot wait to use it as a read aloud with my students.  I wonder what they will think of this little story about a boy, a girl, and a tiger locked in a cage.

Bottomline: This is a great book that looks simple but has many layers to it.  Great read for 3rd grade and up.

From Goodreads:
Walking through the misty Florida woods one morning, twelve-year-old Rob Horton is stunned to encounter a tiger – a real-life, very large tiger – pacing back and forth in a cage. What’s more, on the same extraordinary day, he meets Sistine Bailey, a girl who shows her feelings as readily as Rob hides his. As they learn to trust each other, and ultimately, to be friends, Rob and Sistine prove that some things – like memories, and heartaches, and tigers – can’t be locked up forever.

5 thoughts on “Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamillo

  1. Pingback: My 10 Favorite Books From This Summer’s Reading | Blogging Through the Fourth Dimension

  2. I seem to be alone in the teacher crowd with my complete disappointment in this book. I thought it read like a heavy-handed illustration to accompany a What Is Metaphor? lesson and that the characters were largely stereotypes. (I could do without ever seeing a sassy black woman further the emotional development of white children while never being shown as having interests of her own for the rest of my life.)

    I hate that this is my first comment to your blog because you inspire me so much! I’ve just had “The Tiger Rising and How I Hate It So!” on the mind because my PLC is planning for Lucy Caulkins’ building theories about characters unit.

    • I love your comment! You actually made me think over the last few days about the racial stereotype that was presented in the book. I now want to have my students take the book and discussion in a different direction than I did before because of your comment so please do not ever apologize. There are books that Teachers College hype a lot that I don’t fully get the fascination with such as “Number the Stars.”I am so glad you added your voice to this.

  3. Pingback: Quick Thoughts: “The Tiger Rising” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

