Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver

I have read another Lauren Oliver book this summer, Before I Fall, which was not appropriate for 5th graders.  So I was hesitant to spend my reading time getting into this series expecting the same problem.  However, I was wrong.  Lauren Oliver has created a world where love is a disease that gets cured once you turn 18 by basically cutting out parts of your brain.  The whole society runs on order and following the rules so that everything can be perfect and our main character Lena is just one of many who believes in the benefit of the cure.  That is until she meets Alex and her whole world changes.

The writing is easy to read, fast-paced and not too cliche-ed.  Although there is obviously a lot of love in this book it is not too graphic or mature, the violence is there as usual in any fight evil society books, but the language is not too graphic.  Bottomline:  I read the 3 books in the series within a few days, eager to see how it would end, and love the imagination of the author.  She really creates a new kind of science fiction environment that isn’t just another rip off of The Hunger Games.  If you have read those books you can absolutely read this series.

The three books do not disappoint and I would not be surprised to see this made into a movie.

From Goodreads:
Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

3 thoughts on “Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver

  1. Pingback: Pivot Point by Kasie West | Mrs. Ripp Reads

  2. Pingback: The Selection by Kiera Cass | Mrs. Ripp Reads

  3. Pingback: My 10 Favorite Books From This Summer’s Reading | Blogging Through the Fourth Dimension

Leave a Reply

