Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein

I love it when my students love a book as much as I do, so today I want to feature Ella on this blog.

 

I just read the best book ever! My teacher, Mrs.Ripp recommended me this book without the cover and I looked on the side to see what the title was called. I didn’t know what it was going to be about so I just tried it. I’m glad I tried it because it was the best book ever! The book is called, “Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library” by Chris Grabenstein. It just came out so its a new book. It is about a boy named Kyle Keeley and he loves any kind of game by Luigi L. Lemoncello, but his brothers always win. There is a new library opening up and they where having a lock-in for 12 winners to be the first people to see the new library. By winners I mean they had to write an essay on why they should be chosen to go to the lock-in. After the 12 people got chosen they spent the night at the library. In the morning the 12 where told they where in Mr. L’s (Lemoncello’s) new game, escape from the library. They have to escape from the library finding clues all over the library using their library cards. Charles Chiltington (Kyles enemy) never looses. Kyle teams up with 4 of his friends and will Kyle and his team escape from the library before Charles and win a game for the first time? I’m going to stop there because I don’t want to spoil the book. Sorry if I sorta did. This book is a must read! I personally recommend it! If you want to hear the rest of they book you have to read it. 🙂

Please comment where you are from and if you have ever read “Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library”. 🙂

 

From Goodreads:

Kyle Keeley is the class clown, popular with most kids, (if not the teachers), and an ardent fan of all games: board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the building of the new town library.

Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot to be one of the first 12 kids in the library for an overnight of fun, food, and lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors remain locked. Kyle and the other winners must solve every clue and every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route. And the stakes are very high.

 

4 thoughts on “Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein

  1. Hi Ella,
    I’m a fourth grade teacher in California. I read Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library this summer and loved it so much I’m now reading it aloud to my fourth graders. You did a fabulous job of reviewing the book and I’m sure Mr Grabenstein would think so too! I heard from the “horse’s mouth” that they may be making a movie out of it!
    How lucky you are to have such a great teacher as Mrs Ripp.
    Enjoy your year!
    Best wishes,
    Mrs. Hurlburt

  2. Pingback: Day 17- Fun Games for Writer Motivation and Goals | After Writer Dreams

  3. Hi Ella,

    I enjoyed your review of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library. I read it this summer and actually got to exchange email with Chris Grabenstein! I thought it was so clever how he wove the clues into the story and I felt challenged to figure them out before the characters did! I am planning to read it to my fourth graders in Boulder, CO later this year. I think they’ll love it, don’t you?

    Thanks for the great review! I look forward to seeing what book you review next.

    Sincerely,
    Ms. Holst

Leave a Reply

