Because of Mr. Terupt by Rob Buyea

This book keeps popping up in conversation and as I started the sign up for Global Read Aloud 2014 I noticed it was mentioned there as well.  As luck had it, it had been part of my massive DonorsChoose order that was funded by US Cellular so this weekend I knew it would be the perfect book to devour.

Although you know something bad is going to happen, I kept thinking how much my 5th graders of all kinds would love this book.  I loved the 7 different voices and know that this would make a for a great read aloud, in fact, I would say it would be a great contender for Global Read Aloud 2014.  The story moves quickly, students can relate to it and I love that although it is dramatic it is not overly so.  I think almost all of my 5th graders would be able to read this and get something out of it.  I am now excited to read the sequel.

From Goodreads:

It’s the start of fifth grade for seven kids at Snow Hill School. There’s . . .Jessica, the new girl, smart and perceptive, who’s having a hard time fitting in; Alexia, a bully, your friend one second, your enemy the next;Peter, class prankster and troublemaker; Luke, the brain; Danielle,who never stands up for herself; shy Anna, whose home situation makes her an outcast; and Jeffrey, who hates school.
 
Only Mr. Terupt, their new and energetic teacher, seems to know how to deal with them all. He makes the classroom a fun place, even if he doesn’t let them get away with much . . . until the snowy winter day when an accident changes everything—and everyone.

One thought on “Because of Mr. Terupt by Rob Buyea

  1. I actually started my school year with my class reading this book together, and then we joined in the GRA with Out of My Mind. They made a great pair to think about compassion, school room behavior, and so on. And for my class, I paired it with a science unit on learning about the brain, which integrated fabulously.

    It isn’t as emotionally moving as OOMM, but it works well to engage a variety of personalities.

Leave a Reply

