Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff

This book has been on my bedside stand for many months, never quite convincing me to open up its cover.  Now with the advent of a lot of time sitting in the NICU watching our baby grow stronger, it made its way into my bag and into my life.  I cannot believ I haven’t read this book before or even heard about it.  Oh my, this was a great book.  Not quite knowing what to expect, I found myself rapped up in Hollis’ world of past and present and rooting for her to get a better life. My only complaint is that it ended too soon and left me with so many “What happens then?” questions.

Bottom line: A must for any 5th grade library.

From Goodreads:

Hollis Woods has been in so many foster homes she can hardly remember them all. When Hollis is sent to Josie, she’ll do everything in her power to make sure they stay together.

Leave a Reply

