It’s Monday! What Are You Reading

IMWAYR

Join Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee and Ricki from Unleashing Readers and share all of the reading you have done over the week from picture books to young adult novels. I am really enjoying remembering the great books from the last week and the week before.  I wish I could post every week but am having a hard time keeping up.  This, however, is better than nothing.

Is it bad to admit that I have been in a reading slump?  Between report cards, student-led conferences, getting ready a student blogging presentation, writing the rough draft of my 2nd book and finishing touches on my first, my brain does not seem to read very fast at the moment.  Nonetheless, the big news for mewas that I finally got to release the contender list for Global Read Aloud 2014 – go vote!  And our baby, Augustine, started sleeping 4 hour stretches at night.  So with most of my crazy project behind me, except for the books, I cannot wait to see what the next two weeks of reading will bring.

So what did I read the last two weeks?

Paperboy I absolutely fell in love with this quiet story of a boy who stutters.  Such an incredible book that I excitedly thrust into the hands of mys students, and yes, this is a contender for Global Read Aloud.  Do not let the cover fool you, this packs such a punch.

The Ability (The Ability, #1)I am in the process of reading this book thanks to Simon and Schuster.  I love it so far and just have to finish it so I can pass it on to one of my students who I know will love it as much as I do.

SilverThis book was non-stop action and a quick read for m. I have many sci-fi lovers that will appreciate the zombie-like tendencies of this book.  Not too gory either but just enough to creep you out.

Picture Book Love:

Shoe Dog835424415815400

Leave a Reply

