It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

First of, a huge apology.  Many Monday’s have passed since I shared what I have been reading.  It has not been for a lack of reading, whew, but instead because I have been writing.  I finished final edits on my first Book “Passionate Learners – Giving Our Classroom Back to Our Students” published by Powerful learning Press and available for pre-buy right now!  And I finished my first draft of my second book “Empowered Schools, Empowered Students” which will be published by Corwin in the fall as part of their Connected Educator series.  As much as I have loved writing my books, I have not had the extra energy then to write about the incredible books I am reading, until now.  So behold, a very long entry for this week’s post.

Join Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee and Ricki from Unleashing Readers and share all of the reading you have done over the week from picture books to young adult novels. I am really enjoying remembering the great books from the last week and the week before(and the weeks before).  Perhaps I read more than I knew.

Incredible chapter books

 Thanks to the generosity of Simon and Schuster, this gem of a book made it into my hands last week.  While this book is mature (language and relationships) I loved it.  I will be reviewing this later today.

  This great book was handed to me by my fabulous librarian, Deb, who told me I would love it.  She was right, in fact, I loved it so much I ordered a copy for my own library to use with my 7th graders next year.  I cannot wait to discuss word associations with them and share examples from this poignant little read.

I have owned this book since it came out but just never got around to reading it.  I finally picked it up on a whim and I am glad I did.  What a fun story to read.  I would say it brings back memories of my college days, but it does’t, I didn’t live on campus, nor did I write fan-fiction.  But this book made me feel like I did.  i cannot wait to share this with my 7th graders next year.

 Alli, one of my incredible 5th graders, told me I had to read this book and she was right.  This little gem from 2006 was funny and a quick read.  It definitely made me think of what I would do if I could set the time back 15 minutes.  I was glad to purchase a copy and place it in my classroom.

 This gem of a book also showed up courtesy of Simon and Schuster and although it was intended for 3rd grade I handed it to several 5th graders after I read it.  What a poignant tale of overcoming a big event and growing from it.

 I finally finished Cress by Marissa Meyers.  I have loved the whole Lunar Chronicles series but for some reason had abandoned this during the winter.  I am so glad I picked it back up although I cannot believe I am going to have to wait until the next book to find out what happens, urgh!

 So so good.  Mystery, action, historical fiction all rolled into one.  Loved how my 5th graders have been loving this books as well.

And that’s not all but I am going to end the post here.  I think this is more than enough inspiration for the world!

Leave a Reply

