Review “The Desperate Adventures of Zeno and Alya”

image from goodreads

Once in a while, I get to go to conferences and at the last one I went to , I was lucky enough to catch a presentation by the CCBC here in Madison, WI.  Long story short, after listening to these passionate librarians speak about this book by Jane Kelley, I knew it was a must read.  And yet, when the book came, I wasn’t in a parrot mood, I usually am not huge on animal books, and cancer just sounded so depressing…But then I remembered The One and Only Ivan, then I remembered The Fault in Our Stars, and I knew I had to read this.

Late that night, way past the time I should have closed my eyes since I still have a baby that gets up, I felt my heart uplifted as I closed this little book.  Big on heart, big on meaning, without perfect solutions and endings, this book is a must add to any 3rd grade and up classroom library.

From Goodreads:

An orphaned African grey parrot who can speak 127 words. A girl so sick, she has forgotten what it means to try. Fate––and a banana nut muffin––bring them together. Will their shared encounter help them journey through storms inside and out? Will they lose their way, or will they find what really matters? 

Leave a Reply

