Review “The List” by Siobhan Vaughn

Next to my bed, I have a stack of books that I have been gathering throughout the year beckoning for me to read them. Although they all look enticing and I have read several, I felt the draw to go to the bookstore and spend some giftcards. Boy, was I not disappointed in the first book I picked up. This book, The List, I devoured over two days, which is not bad considering I am home full-time with the kids. I love when a book has multiple voices, and this book really touched on some large issues. Now that I am wearing my 7th grade reading glasses, I thought of the discussions this book could spark on what popularity really means and how we find ourselves within this beauty obsessed culture.

Bottom line: Some vulgar language plus romance makes this one a more mature read, and yet, the story line captivated me and I have a feeling it will hit a nerve with many middle school/high school girls.

From Goodreads:
An intense look at the rules of high school attraction — and the price that’s paid for them.

It happens every year. A list is posted, and one girl from each grade is chosen as the prettiest, and another is chosen as the ugliest. Nobody knows who makes the list. It almost doesn’t matter. The damage is done the minute it goes up.

This is the story of eight girls, freshman to senior, “pretty” and “ugly.” And it’s also the story of how we see ourselves, and how other people see us, and the tangled connection of the two

Leave a Reply

