Book Review: Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin

I hated the cover of this book for some reason so it sat in my to be read pile for a few months,  Stupid me, what do I tell my students all the time and yet here I was judging a book by its cover.  One day, a student came to me and told me to read this book, that I wouldn’t regret it.  Once again, my students were right.  What an incredible, powerful, story of one girl and her dog.

Rain Reign seems simple enough, this isn’t a book with a lot of action but it is within this more delicate story that its power lies.  I couldn’t help but wonder what Rose would say next, how she would react, and what would become of her.  I read this book in one night and was truly sad when it ended.  Not because of the ending, but because the story was finished, I would no longer be a part of Rose’s life and that was sad.  What an incredible read this is for any 4th grade classroom and up.  This is also a Global Read Aloud contender for 2015.

From Goodreads:
Rose Howard has OCD, Asperger’s syndrome, and an obsession with homonyms (even her name is a homonym). She gave her dog Rain a name with two homonyms (Reign, Rein), which, according to Rose’s rules of homonyms, is very special. Rain was a lost dog Rose’s father brought home. Rose and Rain are practically inseparable. And they are often home alone, as Rose’s father spends most evenings at a bar, and doesn’t have much patience for his special-needs daughter.
Just as a storm hits town, Rain goes missing. Rose’s father shouldn’t have let Rain out. Now Rose has to find her dog, even if it means leaving her routines and safe places to search. Rose will find Rain, but so will Rain’s original owners.

Leave a Reply

