This is the Book You Add to Your Classroom Library

I first came across Circus Mirandus when people whose book love I trust kept talking about it.  I felt like it was everywhere and so I knew that i had to read it, obviously.  Except, I ran into a small problem; it wasn’t out.  And so I waited and pined and then it was recommended as a possibility for the Global Read Aloud, strings were pulled, and miracoulously Cassie Beasley graciously sent me an ARC.  Thank you because…

I read it in one night.

And then it became a finalist for the Global Read Aloud.

And then I passed it on to anyone who needed a new book.

And they all agreed; Circus Mirandus is one of the best new books to have been written in a while.  And it’s her first book!

So while I tend to do a lot of book reviews on this blog, in fact, I reviewed this book already, I wanted to give an extra push.  It is one of those books that will be loved by many.  It is one of those books that will be passed on, lost, worn out, and then fondly remembered.  It is one of those books we will remember as we read to our own children.  So if you trust any of my recommendations, this is one to follow.  For sure, 3rd or 4th grade and up, and yes middle schoolers will love it as well.

From Goodreads:

Do you believe in magic?
Micah Tuttle does.

Even though his awful Great-Aunt Gertrudis doesn’t approve, Micah believes in the stories his dying Grandpa Ephraim tells him of the magical Circus Mirandus: the invisible tiger guarding the gates, the beautiful flying birdwoman, and the magician more powerful than any other—the Man Who Bends Light. Finally, Grandpa Ephraim offers proof. The Circus is real. And the Lightbender owes Ephraim a miracle. With his friend Jenny Mendoza in tow, Micah sets out to find the Circus and the man he believes will save his grandfather.

The only problem is, the Lightbender doesn’t want to keep his promise. And now it’s up to Micah to get the miracle he came for.

One thought on “This is the Book You Add to Your Classroom Library

Leave a Reply

