MiNRs by Kevin Sylvester #BookADay

My To-Be-Read pile finally got placed firmly in the corner of my bedroom, so now it only mocks me when I enter the room rather than all the time.  However, its mocking has made me pick up more books every day, swiftly falling in love or abandoning them as I try to reclaim my corner.  I therefore do not have a system right now, but only a movement of my hand as I pick up the next book in the pile and start to read it.  It has been rather freeing actually.

So yesterday’s choice was the ARC MiNRs by Kevin Sylvester.  I had grabbed it at ILA due to its cover but was still slightly skeptical upon looking at it further.  Yet it was on top of the pile so I started to read.  I loved it.  I finished it in 24 hours, thankful for the 30 minute drive to our local zoo because I have trained myself to read in the car again – hallelujah.  I also skipped a movie with my husband so that I could finish the book.  And that ending.  Urgh.  Now I have to patiently wait for the next book to come out because there better be a next book and who knows when that will hapen.  So why is this book so good?  It is a page turner, it is science fiction, and it didn’t remind me of a billion other books.  It is completely accessible to elementary students, 4th grade or so and up but will also suck in my middle school readers.  Bottomline:  I can’t wait to get this book into the hands of my readers.

From Amazon: 

Twelve-year-old Christopher Nichols lives on an asteroid. Earth has been mined to the edge of extinction. Dozen of families, including Christopher’s, have relocated to space to work as miners for terraforming companies.

Then a Blackout hits and the colonists lose communication with Earth. Which means they are on their own when they are ruthlessly attacked.

Now in a race against time, Christopher, along with a small group of survivors, are forced into the maze of mining tunnels. The kids run. They hide. But can they survive?

Leave a Reply

