Review: Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White by Melissa Sweet

Charlotte’s Web was the very first read aloud novel I shared with our oldest daughter, Theadora.  While I knew what was coming, I still cried right along with her when it got to that point.  We still marveled at the story, breathed it in together, and thus the book became a part of the narrative that weave us together as a family.  I was therefore excited to read Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White by Melissa Sweet, because it turns out there is so much I did not know about the famous author who has brought the story of Wilbur and Charlotte into our lives.

This book, by far, is one the best biographies I have ever read.  The depth of knowledge, the whimsical magic of the illustrations, and the sheer breadth of information is, indeed, wondrous.  I kept taking pictures of quotes I wanted to write down, as well as things I wanted to use as teaching materials with my students.  I had several students in mind that I want to hand this to as I was reading it as well, thinking of those who love writing, who need inspiration, or who just need an amazing book.

Biographies can be hard to read and write, I feel.  They often fit a narrow audience because of the way they are written or you are not quite sure that children will stick with them.  But this one sets the bar.  This is the book I want to use to teach my students how to write non-fiction, this is the book I want to use when I want to teach them how to be better writers, period.  I am so grateful to the publisher for sending me a copy of this book, I already ordered another for my classroom, because I think this one will just reside in my house as I try to find my own inspiration to write.  What a tale!  What a book!  What a life!

This is absolutely appropriate for any age and could be used elementary through college.

 

One thought on “Review: Some Writer!: The Story of E.B. White by Melissa Sweet

Leave a Reply

